How to respond to referees’ comments

Todos los investigadores pasamos por este trago, y estoy totalmente de acuerdo en los consejos que da este autor. Yo utilizo una estrategia prácticamente idéntica y hasta la fecha ha ido funcionando.

Trees In Space

The first time I submitted a manuscript, it came back months later with a lengthy list of recommended changes and an equivocal response from the editor which implied that he was reluctant to hear from me again but might deign to respond if I proved myself worthy. I was devastated. It had been an immense amount of work and effort to prepare, and by now I’d moved on to other things. I glumly sloped into my supervisor’s office and was taken aback by his enthusiasm. Apparently this was what passed as good news in science *.

Since then I’ve been through the manuscript submission mill many times and always prepare my students in advance for the likely tone of what they will receive. It doesn’t get any easier. I still can’t read comments as soon as they arrive. Normally I’ll read what the editor says, skim the rest, then go for…

Ver la entrada original 818 palabras más

Deja un comentario

